Of Clowns (and Ghosts)

20 Aug
“I try not to move. It’s just your ghost passing through.”
– Tori Amos, Putting the Damage On

we were clowns
with lipstick faces
painted on smiles
in Avon red
allowed to go forth
pillowcase in tow
and reap
all the haunted night
had to offer
allowed not
however
to partake
punished; chastised
forced to forego
our fleeting fun
piece by piece
through runny eyes
into the trash
like so many pieces
of our youths

© 2010, Micael Chadwick

6 Responses to “Of Clowns (and Ghosts)”

  1. Bukowski's Basement August 20, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Great poem… So very well put with so few words. Wonderful photo as well…

  2. G.D. August 20, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    You just made me cry (but that's OK). Very movingpoem. It's hard to reach back and touch our childhood disappointments sometimes. – G

  3. Mystz August 20, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    “Avon Red” lipstick..

    I recall stealing that from my oldest Sis. I plastered it thickly all over my lips and kissing a hand mirror just to look at my lip prints afterwards, then coating some of my fingers with the lipstick and pressing my fingerprints to the same mirror randomly. I thought the patterns fascinating at the time. Roadmaps formed from the skin of our bodies…..

    Touching deep to the gut poem Micael, thanks for taking me back to my owned shelved memory…

  4. holly August 21, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    tell me where to buy your book of poetry.

  5. Pat Tillett August 21, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    wow! that's a great poem.

    “avon red”
    you are so damn good…

  6. Charles August 24, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    beautiful.

    http://arealgoodblog.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.