Friday Firsts

6 Aug
Isn’t ‘first’ such a strange word? Anyway…
Got this idea from the ever-fab Georgina over at Georgina Dollface.  If you don’t know the blog, you should.
Crush:  Kari Firestone in Mrs. Harris’ first grade class.  I don’t know if she even knew I existed.  She used to wear the cutest frilly foo-foo dresses.  I wonder, now, if I just envied her wardrobe for myself.  I would have been hella cute in those patent Mary Janes, damn it!
Car:  I had this big ol’ honkin’ hand-me-down sparkling rose coloured Cadillac the size of a small continent – with burgundy velveteen interior.  It had been my grandmother’s old car and was a TANK.  You could fit an army of drunken teenagers in that thing.  Seriously – five or six people could fit in the back easily.  And it was virtually indestructible.  Virtually.  Slamming into a parked car in the rain eventually destructed it – but hey, logistics.  Whatever.
Epiphany:  I was never really an ugly kid.  Average.  I didn’t frighten small children.  When I ran away to NYC as a teenager, however, I realized the power of beauty.  It was my very first ever drag show and I hit the stage and the lights went up and the crowd went batshit.  A sense of power rushed over me.  I was gorgeous and they loved it and I had the reins.  Dazey Mayhem was born and that bitch rode that pony til it’s legs fell the fuck off – and then she put it on wheels.
Blog:  My first blog was back in 1999 when living with my now Ex.  Just prior to Em I had come out of a really bad relationship and to say I lived in my shell would have been an understatement.  It caused a lot of problems – and ultimately was the downfall of the relationship.  So I started blogging.  I have always been a journaler – I just began copying those journal entries onto the computer.  I had some great delusion that I would publish it all some day.  I have been blogging ever since.  I still have all those journals – and blogs – to this day.  Maybe I will publish it some day…  Har har har.
Wow…  I am surprised at how difficult it is to come up with ‘firsts.’  Who knew?
Stay tuned for next week’s installment.  And thanks G. for the idea!
10 Responses to “Friday Firsts”

  1. G.D. August 6, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    These are so awesome! And I agree, it is hard to come up with a list of firsts. I would have loved to know you as a teenager – I think we would have had a lot of fun together. (And it's not too late to think about publishing your stories…just sayin'.) Hugs! – G

  2. Vencora August 6, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    wow, awesome post. i'm so glad Georgina came up with this, it's always so interesting to hear tidbits like this of people's lives. ^_^

  3. Lynne August 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    I love this.. Hmm my first?? That would be interesting..

    Yes, we would have definitely been hanging buddies..

    Keep on keeping Warrior!!!

  4. Pat Tillett August 6, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    nice one. I gotta do this also. I've never thought about “firsts” before…
    My mind is stuck on that Caddy…Man, I would have loved to own that. Hell, I'd still like to.

    You must have some stories to tell…I gotta start digging back in time here more.

    It's really nice to see you writing again

  5. B-Dub August 6, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    Mr Bunny- I can remember the first time I read your blog. You ranted your way into my heart, no one can sound off quite like you!

  6. Bukowski's Basement August 6, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Great idea for a weekly series… breaks up all the friday flashes I usually read. Good post…

  7. Jane August 7, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    My first car was an old VW tan hardtop bug with automatic stick shifting. I borrowed it once when I was 15 and my parents were out of town. I got it stuck on a hill in a shopping complex. In college I had an old Chevy Impala with navy blue interior.
    That beast could fit 6 people in the back and 4 up front. Came in handy at college.

  8. Toni August 7, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Your epiphany made me laugh out-loud! Put it on wheels! Love it!

    I want to do this too. There is a first time for everything!

    Love you.

  9. The Empress August 8, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    I love your Friday Firsts! And props to Georgina Dollface for the suggestion. Your writing style is both clever and amusing. I'll definitely be coming back for more.
    Happy Weekend, The Empress

    http://rantersbox.blogspot.com

  10. Nariane August 9, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    wow… I'm getting old and senile.
    I don't think I can remember my firsts…
    or maybe I'd rather not remember them LOL

Comments are closed.