Grrr…

6 Jul
I bought this ugly little lamp from Kmart years ago on clearance.  I was never terribly fond of it, but who can pass up a $3 lamp?  The shade used to be plain, textured parchment paper, but in moving it from the hotel room last Friday it got torn (or it got ripped at some point while I was away – I really don’t know).  I tried to patch it with tissue paper to no avail.  Was just going to either throw it away or buy a new shade.  Mom went to town, though, and got me this great fabric.  It is an exact match of some of the squares on my quilt that she made.  Couple of bucks in fabric and some INSANE “Fabric Tac” glue (that stuff is mean – it melted my nail polish off my fingersnails!!!) – and Voila! – brand new lamp.
I am actually glad, now, that the dumb thing got messed up.  It’s better than it was when I purchased it!
Yeah…  This is what my life has become now…  Spending my Fourth of July recovering lampshades (and blogging about it…).  Maybe I should have put it on my head and done the Macarena.
It is a cute lamp now though…
8 Responses to “Grrr…”

  1. Kate July 6, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    It IS a cute lamp! And you've made it more personal, which is always a plus.

    🙂

    Kate x

  2. Nariane July 6, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Mom's are amazing aren't they? 😀

  3. chrisromero July 6, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Cute i want one now. 🙂

  4. Lynne July 6, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Tres Cool!!!

    I have a sofa that needs to be re-upolstered..Interested? lol

  5. Marlene July 6, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    Tres funky!

  6. Vencora July 6, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    i just figured out that the reason i sometimes can't leave you comments is because i'm not signed in to blogger. doh. *facepalm*

  7. Ashley King July 6, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    i would have LOVED to see the lampshade on the head while doing the macarena! we should ALL do that!!! and make video blogs. ha! 😉 i hope you're feeling better!!!! been praying for you daily!

  8. G.D. July 7, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    I love your desk, and the lamp too! So cozy looking. There is something about animal prints that just gos with everything, ESPECIALLY doing the macarena. *wink-hint-wink* – G

Comments are closed.