dark mourning of the soul

1 Jul
[a re-verse]

dark mourning of the soul
for times lost
she never had
reaching out
scrambling through the shadows
wrapping them around her
like an old familiar
shying from the light
and its hateful glare
exposing truths
she already knows
her remorse
for things ungained
pockets emptied
and embers long since doused
remains her constant
her lover
her friend
and the sole consistency
of her mourning

© 2009, Micael Chadwick

This was written about a year ago now.  It’s interesting what all can change in a year.  Especially in my case.  I posted this poem as a reflection of how far things have come.  Despite everything, I couldn’t be further from the place I was in when I wrote this.  Time to start writing again…

9 Responses to “dark mourning of the soul”

  1. Ashley King July 1, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    what a powerful piece!!!

  2. G.D. July 1, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    ….And it was about a year ago that I fell in love with your writing. That will never change for me. I can still remember leaving my first comment for you. I didn't even have to think, my hands just went to the key board and I had this urge to tell you that your writing was stirring something in me. – G

  3. ~L July 1, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    yes! write more, I'm waiting…. ❤

  4. Lynne July 1, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Well I'll be… Warrior man is a poet..I'm impressed.. I have a writing website for poetry anytime you want to climb on board, the door is always open..
    Yes, free that pen..

  5. Pat Tillett July 1, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    That was really good Micael.
    Some things need to be read twice and savored. This was one of them…

  6. Nariane July 2, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    You are a man of man talents.

    I beautiful piece of writing, I'll be looking forward to more.

  7. Mystz July 2, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    ….couldn't agree more with all of the above comments..I alway's have loved your reflections on life whether dark or light as either way you simply shine Micael.

    Yes, please write again and as often as you can..we'll be looking in.

    Have a wonderful weekend m'Dear..thinking of you and very often too. My family here send you their very best as they too have seen your wrtings and rants which they love lol. x0x0x0x0x

  8. gayle July 3, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    Oh I love that so much!!!!

  9. Jane July 10, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Yes!!! More, more, more! Keep writing it all down.

Comments are closed.