In the Middle

28 May
[I’ve had this written in my notebook for a while but since I’ve had such computer troubles lately, I’ve been unable to post it.]
The quote itself, “the long journey to the middle,” is from the movie Almost Famous.  For my blog though, I have completely taken it out of context.
When I first heard the phrase it really resonated with me me.  So many people spend their lives reveling in the past – be it trying to relive their Glory Days or by lamenting over all the perceived wrongs and injustices they feel they have endured.  Inversely, others concentrate solely on the future and what’s yet to occur.  In either case, they are not really living the life in front of them:  The Middle.
With all that has gone on in my world, I am trying to make a conscious to live My Middle.  I can’t go back.  What’s done is done.  Tomorrow is going to come (or not) no matter how much we do or don’t want it.  So why not, instead, make the most of The Middle?  The Here.  The Now.  
It is a long journey.  It’s easier to look back.  It’s easier to fantasize about the future…  Both can be healthy and necessary.  But what are you missing today?  Our Middles.
5 Responses to “In the Middle”

  1. Vencora May 28, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    i must say i think that's one of my favorite pictures i've ever seen on the internet.
    also, you are completely right. what we have is right now. the future is only tomorrow's now, and “the future comes behind us.” (i don't know where the quoted part originally came from, but a friend wrote it in an email to me once.)

  2. Anna May 29, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    This is wonderful, it really is. As I finished up reading it I had to give myself a little pep talk. Growing up I focused so hard on the future, and now spend way too much time regretting the past. Thank you for the reminder.

  3. ~L June 8, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    Rabbit, as usual, your words move me, resonate within my mind, and speak my truth. I like the middle and all it brings as I'm looking over my shoulder or standing on my tip toes, peering over the future's fence. The middle grounds me. The middle ground…where the rubber meets the road and the shitters get off the pot. Life. Now.

    meet ya in the middle,
    peace be with you,
    ~L

  4. Midwestern Mama Holly December 14, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    LOVE!! True.. now.. the middle is the best place to be. Ive been on the wild side and it was fun, but now its done.. and Im not quite ready for the rocking chair… so the middle it is.

  5. Pat Tillett December 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    For me…

    The past really sucked
    I have no idea what the future holds
    All I really have is now
    I'm trying to enjoy the hell out of it

Comments are closed.