What goes down…

20 Apr
…is barfed back up.  Yippee.
My spirits have tanked.  Hard.  I have no faith or hope in my move back home at the moment.  I am at the Fuck It & Give Up point.  Finances are not where they should be.  Having a hell  of a time house shopping from such a long distance.  I need work.  I need money.  I need…  I need…  I need.
But fuck a bunch of that.  I am tired of hearing about myself.  As I am sure y’all are too.  So, thanks to Toni ‘s comment on an earlier post, I offer you even more useless – but utterly fascinating – information.
“Like most birds, owls can’t chew their food; they often swallow their prey whole. But they’re different from most birds because they don’t have a crop (the organ used to store food after it has been swallowed so that it can be digested later). In owls, food goes right from the mouth to the gizzard … a sort of stomach that contains digestive fluids and sand that dissolve and grind up food.

But some of the parts of the animals eaten by an owl, like beaks, claws, fur and bones, can’t be digested. So the owl spits them up! This is what makes an owl pellet.

You can find out what an owl eats by examining these pellets. Most of the indigestible material is still whole, and often a skull can be found, making identification of the animal that was eaten easy.”
Dunno why but I think that’s pretty bad ass.  Eat what you need.  Barf up the rest.  Prophetic?
7 Responses to “What goes down…”

  1. phinner April 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    oh yum, a tasty subject to peruse during my lunch break! I do like the concept of owl pellets and the circle of life and all that junk!

    otherwise, I'm sending good thots to you during this part of your journey

    : .)

  2. G.D. April 20, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Ewwww, I was just about to have dinner.
    Maybe not so much right now. But yeah, I'll admit that is a pretty cool factoid. I wish I had such an efficient digestive system.
    Moving is one of the top ten life stresses, I think it's right up there with divorce and family bereavement, so hang in there. I know you will get to your magical place one day soon. Hugs. – G

  3. B-Dub April 20, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Back in my homeschool days- like a few months ago- we bought some “owl pellets” via the good ol internet and had a blast exploring the contents. 9 year old? Happiest day ever.

  4. Toni April 21, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    Love this post! That Toni bitch comes off with a good one every now and then. So my internet is screwed up…again. As soon as it is up and running I will hunt you down and force you to vomit up an owl pellet so we can dissect it and figure out what we are going to do about all the nasty shit that is bringing you down. Until then, smile, and know that you are loved more than words can express. Kiss, kiss, hug, and one good leg hunch!

  5. Mainland Streel April 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    I'm sorry things are so arse right now. 😦

    Also…owl pellets? At first, I thought those were pictures of really big, dead bugs! I'm not sure which is worse, ha ha! 😮

  6. ~L April 21, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    thinking of you…L

  7. John McElveen May 22, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    I agree- that's as badass as it gets! Plus-swooping down on chit at night–gotta be cool!

    Hope things turn for ya soon!

    John

Comments are closed.