Treme. Selfishly.

13 Apr

I think I have finally figured out what’s been buggin’ me about HBO’s Treme.
I. Am. Selfish.
I don’t want it shared with the entire free world – not like that. It’s nothing really to do with the show personally. I really don’t have a problem with the show itself. I think they’ve done it justice for what it is. But it feels like a herd of idiot strangers up in my home touching my stuff… An all-access pass into my shower while I am bathing. And I don’t like it. It feels weird.
I have an affinity for the Treme. It’s personal to me. The Treme was my refuge the last time I was home. When my (now ex) husband would go all willy-nilly batshit-crazy, it was my retreat. I know all the references. I know the buildings. I know the characters. I know the streets. So it’s mine in many ways. With this show it feels like it’s being pimped out like a Bourbon Street whore during Carnival. I also dread to hear all the vast wanna-be “knowledge” that every Fuckin’ Hipster capable of turning on the boob tube and/or reading a blog is going to glean from this and regurgitate it as gelatinous corn-filled “fact.” Makes my stomach turn. Reminds me of the Faux Bohos and Factory Fuckers of NYC.
I shouldn’t really say that I don’t want to share, though. That is an untruth of epic proportions. To share my beautiful home is all I want to do. I rarely shut up about it, and I am sure all my friends get tired of hearing it after a while. I want you to meet her. Feel her embrace… Take in her scents and sounds… Dance her dance… Share her table… Share her bed… I want you to fall in love like you never have before – and never will again.
But it is in the sharing. I want it shared MY way. Not on some randomly fictitious cable TV program with Steve Zahn’s naked ass wandering across the screen and Dan Connor shouting about cucumbers up his butt.
That’s not it.

Not for me, anyway.

Selfish.
9 Responses to “Treme. Selfishly.”

  1. Ray April 13, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    I feel ya, baby.

    http://backoftown.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/giving-it-away/

  2. Treme April 13, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    C'mon, take the plastic off the couch! http://watchingtreme.blogspot.com/2010/04/home.html
    But I mean that with affection, and recognizing that your refuge is a delicate, fragile thing, deserving of your protection–on your terms.

  3. MicaelChadwick.com April 13, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    If you take the plastic off the couch, they'll just drag their poo-stained pucker across the rug. Six, one; half dozen, another.

    Like I said, though, I really do like the show. I just dunno how I like other people being able to like the show.

    Selfish. I own it.

  4. Penny April 14, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    I don't know about this show…I was slightly offended by it's content…I don't know…I def. wont be watching.

  5. G.D. April 14, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    That's how I feel about all those dwarfism shows on TLC. If one more stranger comes up to me and asks me if I know the Roloffs, I'm gonna loozit.

    Be selfish all you want. But just so you know, one day, I really hope to have a personal redheaded tour of that place you love and adore. I promise I won't make a big mess. 🙂 – G

  6. Pat Tillett April 14, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Hi there, I saw your link at “a mainland streel” and took a chance. I really like your blog so far. If you don't mind, I'm going to tag along.
    thanks
    patricktillett.blogspot.com

  7. Mystz April 14, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Ah,..thought it was a reality show..it's a series. I take it it's not close to the “real” thing then for you?

  8. MicaelChadwick.com April 15, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    I think, Mystz, it is too “real” and that in itself is where the (my) problem lies.

  9. Mystz April 17, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    I apologise for my ignorance,.I have yet to see this..but, I understand battles..

    You know I wish you nothing but the best in ALL that lies ahead..x0x

Comments are closed.