Oh darlin…

13 Apr

A dear friend of mine posted this gorgeous photo a few days yonder:

Amazing shot, isn’t it?  And in the description she stated:

“it’s a saguaro skeleton…”

Scroll down to the comments, and I literally choked on my grape koolaid:

Is it like a dead cactus or something?

Like…  yes, bebé.  Skeleton would usually give the first impression that it might be, like, dead.  A Saguaro, like, is a cactus.

In the South, we have an expression for these type of people.  I actually said it out loud on this one:

Well, bless her heart.
8 Responses to “Oh darlin…”

  1. G.D. April 13, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    That IS an amazing photo. There has always been something about cacti that speaks to me – they always make me prick my ears up a bit when I am driving through the desert. – G

  2. Toni April 13, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    haha! You know I'm gonna give her, like, a “bless” as well.

  3. MicaelChadwick.com April 13, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    G. – I agree. There is something so stoic and haunting about them.

    T. – I think she might need a “Gawd Love 'Er” as well (or a “Here's Your Sign” ?)

  4. Vencora April 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    i laughed at her comment too, but in a “wow i guess i should have explained myself better” sort of way. to her credit, she's a youngling and not from these parts. ^_^
    i admire these cute moments of laughter. you should hear some of the silly things i've asked people. ❤

  5. MicaelChadwick.com April 13, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    I am really NOT being ugly. I promise. “Bless her heart” is not an insult. It's more like “you poor thing.” It was such a real life Phoebe moment it just had to be shared!

  6. ~L April 13, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    well, according to your use of it here, “Bless her heart” has probably been muttered behind my back millions of times in my 43 years of living…LOL

  7. Mainland Streel April 13, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Oh, I can be awfully simple sometimes too, but that is definitely a “bless her heart” moment if I ever heard one. 🙂

  8. Okie April 13, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    lol…nice photo. and I love the commentary. priceless.

Comments are closed.